Are you ready to navigate the waters of car insurance? Let’s start with some of the basics as well as discuss the particulars about Florida auto insurance requirements.
How to choose an insurance company
I would start by contacting someone like Florida Insurance Quotes at https://floridainsurancequotes.net/auto-insurance/safe-rock-bottom-auto-insurance-policies/ for rock bottom coverage. This is an excellent place to start shopping around for an insurance carrier since most of the specific insurance decisions will be made with the carrier once you have chosen one. Here are just a few places to start narrowing your search. Or
- Department of insurance – Each state has its own department of insurance, the majority of which make public the complaint information and ratios. This type of ratio will tell you how many complaints have been made to the department for every 1000 claims filed.
- A body shop – You would be hard-pressed to find someone who has dealt with more insurance companies than a body shop. They might be willing to give you invaluable information related to ease of the claim process and relative speed as well as any cost cutting measures the insurance company typically attempts to enforce.
- Friends and family – Word of mouth is not always 100% reliable, but anecdotal data does hold weight. Ask around to see what companies your friends and family use and whether they are satisfied with their coverage, their rates, and their customer service.
How to choose your insurance coverage
Look at your car insurance policy options as a buffet in which you can pick and choose which types of coverage you prefer. Some states do have minimum requirements. Likewise, if you have an outstanding loan on the vehicle, then the bank will require certain types and minimums of coverage. Here is a listing of the most common options.
- Medical coverage
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
- Uninsured motorist
- Underinsured motorist
- Rental reimbursement
What makes Florida auto insurance different from other states’ requirements?
- According to Florida state law, you must have the minimum coverage amounts for personal injury protection ($10,000) as well as property damage liability ($10,000).
- Also, Florida is a no-fault insurance state. This means that if you are injured in an accident, your insurance must cover your medical costs up to your personal policy’s limits no matter who caused the accident.
- Usually speaking, these policies will also cover all members of your household, your children while on a school bus, yourself as a pedestrian or a cyclist, and any passengers in your vehicle who do not own a vehicle and who do not have their own PIP coverage. If the passenger does have their own policy, their insurance will cover any of their medical costs.
- It will also cover if you are injured as the passenger in someone else’s car.
- The property damage liability policies cover damages to another party’s property.
If you do not have proof of these insurance coverages, your registration, your license, and your car plates will be suspended. If you are able to provide proof of coverage before the date of the suspensions, you will not face the standard financial penalties. These are some facts to help you in getting cheaper FL auto insurance at https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/.